Life Update: 8/7/15

Hello everyone! 😀

I know I haven’t posted anything in a while, and I apologize. Again, life has gotten busy for me, and I’m trying to refocus a little bit.

Since I graduated college about 2 years ago with a BA in Media Studies, a Game Studies certificate, and a minor in Computer Science, I have still yet to find a full time job, let alone a full time job in my field. About 6 months ago, I decided to go to a temp agency for help to try to get my foot in the door to a full time job, since it seemed that my then 6 years of various work experience (not including my free lance work) and my college education didn’t seem to get me anywhere other than part time sales/customer service/food service/retail jobs, which I took on while I was in college and never intended on making them my career. Since then, I have been working two jobs: my full time, contract job placement (which I keep applying to as positions open up so I can possibly become permanent full time), and my last remaining favorite retail job on the weekends as a back up just in case I don’t make the permanent cut. My contract job isn’t in my field of study, but it is low stress and it pays reasonably well, two things that I require to stay happy and sane. It is because of this career refocusing that I have closed commissions, and are going to continue to have them closed until I finally get a full time position so I can refocus again and work on art on the side until I get a good enough portfolio to where I can actually achieve my dream of becoming an industry artist.

That being said, once I am able to focus on art again, I’d like to do some rebranding. Obviously I won’t be able to change my official business name, but I’d like to rebrand myself online (maybe abbrevating myself as “KBK”, as it rolls off the tongue, is easy to pronounce, and still gives me a similar branding to what I’ve been using since I was a teen), and either migrate to a better free website (ex. WiX), or finally take the plunge, buy some server space, and finally code my own website. (I know HTML and CSS so I’m sure with a little brushing up, I could make a pretty decent, better organized website.) I’d also like to get into game creation, as I’ve been hoarding game creation software as it becomes available via Humble Bundle (https://www.humblebundle.com/). I might also start producing more videos for my YouTube channel (http://www.youtube.com/user/kazebkatakage) in the form of “Let’s Plays” or “Let’s Draw”, as the only things I’ve been uploading in recent years have been recordings of my very sporadic art streams, videos of my pets, and very few animations. I already have my YouTube channel set up to generate revenue, so it would be a shame not to utilize it more. Addtionally, I’d like to also make more merchandise for my Society6 (https://society6.com/kazekatakage) and Redbubble (http://www.redbubble.com/people/kazekatakage) stores. (Mainly Society6 as they give me a lot of promotional options I can use to attract more customers and generate greater revenue.)

Basically, I have a lot of ideas that I want to pursue, but not a lot of time to do so at the moment.

So, for now, I’ve just been working as much as I can to make a great impression on my bosses at my contract job, and relaxing with some video games. Particularly, I’ve been playing a lot of Final Fantasy XIV (http://www.finalfantasyxiv.com/) in what little free time I have with my boyfriend and friends. It’s been pretty fun, and if you’d like to join me, I’m on the server Hyperion, and my character name is Kaze Katakage. 🙂

Well, that’s all for now! Any questions or comments, please leave them in the comments section below and I will respond. Thank you for the ever continuing support, and I hope to see everyone soon!

(P.S. If you’re curious, I’ve been uploading doodles and various other things to my Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/KazeBreezeKatakage), Instagram (@kazekatakage), and Twitter (http://twitter.com/kaze_katakage) accounts if you’d still like to see some of my latest work.)

Leave a Reply

