COMMISSIONS CLOSED: All of 2016, and Possibly Beyond

Hello everyone! 😀

Since November of 2015, I’ve been working full time for a great small company doing work on their website, Amazon sales, and creating graphics for them.

Unfortunately, they have recently fallen on hard times, and had to seek help from the state. Luckily, they were able to snag a spot in a shared work program. This program allows workers who have had their hours cut due to company hardship to collect a slight amount of unemployment for one day (about 20% of the income they would have made had they been able to work that day).

The catch: if you work for ANYONE ELSE, including yourself, during the time that you are in the program, your benefits get lessened or terminated.

Because my art business is registered with the government as a DBA, I had to report this while filing the paperwork, and had to also report that I had not received paid work since May 26, 2015, and I did not plan on continuing to work for myself anytime soon.

So, in short, because of this benefits program, I can not, under any conditions, accept commissions for the entirety of 2016, and maybe not at all, as long as this program is in effect.

I apologize for this, as some of you guys have been coming to me with projects and I’ve had to turn them away for personal or business reasons, but I do appreciate the support that you guys have given me. Maybe this will give me a chance to practice on my own again, and when I’m able to take commissions, I will be a better, more well rounded artist. 🙂

Thank you very much for your continued support, and have a wonderful day! 🙂

UPDATE:
Received a letter today on NYS Department of Labor letterhead. According to this, even talking to inquiring clients about potential work is considered work, whether there is money exchanged or not.
12744069_10153455854307358_712384519438860126_n
Because of this, I will no longer be answering e-mails, messages, letters, or texts in regards to commissions as I legally can not without possibly forfeiting my benefits.

Please respect this. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

